Song of the week: Mashrou’ Leila – 3ubwa

I’ve been a bit lax on posting a song every week (but hey, it’s not like I didn’t predict that) so to make up for it, here’s an anti-war song, based on what I’m told is an old Lebanese folk song, by a band that I think I have fallen in love with.

I don’t have time to give my usual missive about the song in its cultural context, but hopefully I will do that sometime soon. Stay tuned.

Here is a translation of the lyrics that I was able to find:

“Mashrou3 Leila”: THE ENGLISH LYRICS « Feel Notes.

3ubwa (Bomb):

Tik tik tik Im Sleiman[1]

Tik tik tik tik boom

Tik tik tik the field blew up

Looks like another boom’s coming

The key is in the car

Stuff a corpse in the trunk

There’s a martyr behind the curtain

Wants to dominate the market

Tik tik tik here’s the adhan[2]

Muffled the sound of the boom

And I’m on the television

My face like those of owls[3]

How am I supposed to care for politics when everyone here’s so lazy

And everybody’s stubborn that their religion is the best color

Tik tik tik here’s the adhan

Muffled the sound of the boom

And I’m on the television

My face like that of owls

How am I supposed to care for politics when everyone here’s so lazy

And everybody’s stubborn that their religion is the best color

Tik tik tik Im Sleiman

Tik tik tik tik tik tik tik tik

Boom boom boom boom

Boom boom boom

Boom

1- This is a reference to an old Arabic children’s song. “Im Sleiman” means “Sleiman’s mother”.

2- Muslim call to prayer broadcast by the mosque.

3- Plural of owls in Arabic is “boom/ boum”.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Have any thoughts on this? Put them here!

