So this is ‘tolerance’? Doug Cameron, Campbell Newman and the NDIS

Last time I mentioned Senator Doug Cameron, the leader of Labor’s left faction from what I gather, it was because of some horribly intolerant remarks he was making about foreigners stealing “our” jobs.

Well, it’s good sad to see that some things don’t change.

Today he called for raising taxes and abolishing the Productivity Commission and raising taxes because this would help “build the country”. That seems absurd, but I’ll leave it to the economists to say why.

What really bothered me was this:

Axe Productivity Commission and up taxes | The Australian.

I have been arguing for some time that hypothecated taxes should be introduced to pay for Gonski, aged care reform and the NDIS. It makes me a little uncomfortable to know that I’m on the same page as the Queensland Premier on this when it comes to the NDIS, but I’ll take all the friends I can get. I am serious about this issue – I am not sure the Queensland Premier is.

The not-so-subtle subtext is that Cameron does not like Campbell Newman, who is a Liberal after all, and therefore does not want to ever agree with him on anything and is suspicious of him whenever he says something that Cameron does agree with.

In Cameron’s view, he and Newman are polar opposites and must necessarily disagree on everything — it is very unlikely that Newman would genuinely be concerned about something like helping the disabled because he’s, you know, Conservative and stuff.

I am quite repulsed by that attitude.

To me, if Cameron truly agrees with Newman, the logical thing to do would be to pick up a phone, call Newman and say, “Hey, so I know we disagree on a lot of things, but this is very important and I’m glad you’re on board, we should work together to make it happen.”

Not only would he then learn whether Newman was actually serious, he would also be part of a bipartisan group working for something that he apparently feels very strongly about. Instead, he writes to the nation about how “uncomfortable” he is that they agree.

For shame.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lou Edwards on August 31, 2012 - 1:57 pm

    Campbell Newman is losing popularity hand over fist. He is a political naive. When are the media going to realize this?

  1. In defence of Bibi and Israeli democracy « Major Karnage

Have any thoughts on this? Put them here!

